2021 · April 2021 · New YA Releases

This Week New YA Releases – 20 Apr 2012

Hello Fellow Readers,

Every Monday the Monogamist Reader blog will publish a list of all the new YA releases that will come out the following Tuesday. This post is a fixed appointment and a recurring section of this blog from its very beginning. I initially started posting it as a way to personally discover new reads and, thanks to the positive comments received so far, it became a recurring section and characteristic of this blog.

Please note, a separate post is dedicated to sequels, trilogies or book series, usually towards the end of the month. 

I really have fun working on it and love sharing it with you (and adding more books to your TBR!). I hope you find it as useful as it is for me, and if you enjoy this section, don’t forget to share it with your bookish friends. 

Fantasy:

Witches Steeped in Gold – Ciannon Smart

Divided by their order. United by their vengeance.

Iraya has spent her life in a cell, but every day brings her closer to freedom – and vengeance.

Jazmyne is the Queen’s daughter, but unlike her sister before her, she has no intention of dying to strengthen her mother’s power.

Sworn enemies, these two witches enter a precarious alliance to take down a mutual threat. But power is intoxicating, revenge is a bloody pursuit, and nothing is certain – except the lengths they will go to win this game.

I am so curious to read this novel and I am pretty sure I am not the only one. Witches Steeped in Gold is the debut novel of Ciannon Smart, which is a Jamaican-inspired fantasy about two enemy witches who must form an alliance to defeat a common enemy. Witches Steeped in Gold is out on 20 April, and if you are curious to hear more about it, you can head over on Raji’s blog – Worlds Unlike Our Own – and read her great review.

These Feathered Flames – Alexandra Overy

When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are decided at a young age. While Izaveta remained at court to learn the skills she’d need as the future queen, Asya was taken away to train with her aunt, the mysterious Firebird, who ensured magic remained balanced in the realm.

But before Asya’s training is completed, the ancient power blooms inside her, which can mean only one thing: the queen is dead, and a new ruler must be crowned.

As the princesses come to understand everything their roles entail, they’ll discover who they can trust, who they can love—and who killed their mother.

This is the second debut of this week. These Feathered Flames is a fantasy retelling of the Russian folklore story of the firebird. I had the opportunity to read it a couple of weeks ago (you can find my review here) and I strongly recommend it if you enjoy retellings and intriguing magic systems.

In Deeper Waters – F.T.Lukens

Prince Tal has long awaited his coming-of-age tour. After spending most of his life cloistered behind palace walls as he learns to keep his forbidden magic secret, he can finally see his family’s kingdom for the first time. His first taste of adventure comes just two days into the journey, when their crew discovers a mysterious prisoner on a burning derelict vessel.

Tasked with watching over the prisoner, Tal is surprised to feel an intense connection with the roguish Athlen. So when Athlen leaps overboard and disappears, Tal feels responsible and heartbroken, knowing Athlen could not have survived in the open ocean.

That is, until Tal runs into Athlen days later on dry land, very much alive, and as charming—and secretive—as ever. But before they can pursue anything further, Tal is kidnapped by pirates and held ransom in a plot to reveal his rumored powers and instigate a war. Tal must escape if he hopes to save his family and the kingdom. And Athlen might just be his only hope… 

I have been keeping this book under my radar for a long time. Pirates? Yes please! Queer pirates!? I’m in! This novel from the author of Broken Moon series is a mix of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue and Pirates of the Caribbean. This is (finally) out on 20 April.

Mystery / Historical Fiction:

The Forest of Stolen Girls – June Hur

Hwani’s family has never been the same since she and her younger sister went missing and were later found unconscious in the forest, near a gruesome crime scene. The only thing they remember: Their captor wore a painted-white mask.

To escape the haunting memories of this incident, the family flees their hometown. Years later, Detective Min—Hwani’s father—learns that thirteen girls have recently disappeared under similar circumstances, and so he returns to their hometown to investigate… only to vanish as well.

Determined to find her father and solve the case that tore their family apart, Hwani returns home to pick up the trail. As she digs into the secrets of the small village—and reconnects with her now estranged sister—Hwani comes to realize that the answer lies within her own buried memories of what happened in the forest all those years ago.

The Forest of Stolen Girls is a story of a girl who decides to find out what happened to her father who disappeared while investigating the mysterious disappearance of 13 girls. This is the second historical novel from the South Korean writer June Hur, author of the best seller The Silence of Bones. This is out on 20 April and if you want to hear more about it, I recommend that you read The Elven Warrior’s amazing honest review.

Contemporary Romance / LGBT:

She Drives Me Crazy – Kelly Quindlen

After losing spectacularly to her ex-girlfriend in their first game since their break up, Scottie Zajac gets into a fender bender with the worst possible person: her nemesis, the incredibly beautiful and incredibly mean Irene Abraham. Things only get worse when their nosey, do-gooder moms get involved and the girls are forced to carpool together until Irene’s car gets out of the shop.

Their bumpy start only gets bumpier the more time they spend together. But when an opportunity presents itself for Scottie to get back at her toxic ex (and climb her school’s social ladder at the same time), she bribes Irene into playing along. Hijinks, heartbreak, and gay fake-dating scheme for the ages. From author Kelly Quindlen comes a new laugh-out-loud romp through the ups and downs of teen romance. 

From the author of Her Name in the Sky, She Drives Me Crazy is a rom-com about two high school nemesis who fall in love. This is recommended for fans of Becky Albertalli and Casey Mc Quiston, and it will be out on 20 April.

Kate In Waiting – Becky Albertalli

Contrary to popular belief, best friends Kate Garfield and Anderson Walker are not codependent. Carpooling to and from theater rehearsals? Environmentally sound and efficient. Consulting each other on every single life decision? Basic good judgment. Pining for the same guys from afar? Shared crushes are more fun anyway.

But when Kate and Andy’s latest long-distance crush shows up at their school, everything goes off script. Matt Olsson is talented and sweet, and Kate likes him. She really likes him. The only problem? So does Anderson.

Turns out, communal crushes aren’t so fun when real feelings are involved. This one might even bring the curtains down on Kate and Anderson’s friendship.

Kate in Waiting is the latest rom-com from the brilliant author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, Becky Albertalli. It’s a sweet story about the ups and downs of first (and shared crush) and platonic love. You can read my review here and you can purchase this novel on 20 April.

Dystopia / Science Fiction

Dustborn – Erin Bowman

Delta of Dead River has always been told to hide her back, where a map is branded on her skin to a rumored paradise called the Verdant. In a wasteland plagued by dust squalls, geomagnetic storms, and solar flares, many would kill for it—even if no one can read it. So when raiders sent by a man known as the General attack her village, Delta suspects he is searching for her. 

Delta sets out to rescue her family but quickly learns that in the Wastes no one can be trusted—perhaps not even her childhood friend, Asher, who has been missing for nearly a decade. If Delta can trust Asher, she just might decode the map and trade evidence of the Verdant to the General for her family. What Delta doesn’t count on is what waits at the Verdant: a long-forgotten secret that will shake the foundation of her entire world.

Dustborn‘s story sounds super weird but super intriguing. It’s a story of Delta who discovers a secret that could reshape this post apocalyptic world ruled by a ruthless dictator. It’s a mix of Mad Max and Gunslinger Girl and it will be out on 20 April. Yolanda @Past Midnight wrote a fantastic review, don’t forget to check it out.

Which of these books are you most excited to read? 

5 thoughts on “This Week New YA Releases – 20 Apr 2012

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s