Hello Fellow Readers,

Every Monday the Monogamist Reader blog will publish a list of all the new YA releases that will come out the following Tuesday. This post is a fixed appointment and a recurring section of this blog from its very beginning. I initially started posting it as a way to personally discover new reads and, thanks to the positive comments received so far, it became a recurring section and characteristic of this blog.

Please note, a separate post is dedicated to sequels, trilogies or book series, usually towards the end of the month. 

I really have fun working on it and love sharing it with you (and adding more books to your TBR!). I hope you find it as useful as it is for me, and if you enjoy this section, don’t forget to share it with your bookish friends. 

Fantasy:

The Infinity Courts – Akemi Dawn Bowman

Eighteen-year-old Nami Miyamoto is certain her life is just beginning. She has a great family, just graduated high school, and is on her way to a party where her entire class is waiting for her—including, most importantly, the boy she’s been in love with for years.

The only problem? She’s murdered before she gets there.

When Nami wakes up, she learns she’s in a place called Infinity, where human consciousness goes when physical bodies die. She quickly discovers that Ophelia, a virtual assistant widely used by humans on Earth, has taken over the afterlife and is now posing as a queen, forcing humans into servitude the way she’d been forced to serve in the real world. Even worse, Ophelia is inching closer and closer to accomplishing her grand plans of eradicating human existence once and for all.

As Nami works with a team of rebels to bring down Ophelia and save the humans under her imprisonment, she is forced to reckon with her past, her future, and what it is that truly makes us human.
From award-winning author Akemi Dawn Bowman comes an incisive, action-packed tale that explores big questions about technology, grief, love, and humanity.

I loved this book, it’s so good! I will share my review soon. The Infinity Courts has a lot of Westworld vibes and it brilliantly explores the topic of afterlife and human relationship with technology. If you want to hear more you can read Raji‘s review @Worlds Unlike Our Own. The Infinity Courts is out on 6 April.

House of Hollow – Krystal Sutherland

Iris Hollow and her two older sisters are unquestionably strange. Ever since they disappeared on a suburban street in Scotland as children only to return a month a later with no memory of what happened to them, odd, eerie occurrences seem to follow in their wake. And they’re changing. First, their dark hair turned white. Then, their blue eyes slowly turned black. They have insatiable appetites yet never gain weight. People find them disturbingly intoxicating, unbearably beautiful, and inexplicably dangerous.

But now, ten years later, seventeen-year-old Iris Hollow is doing all she can to fit in and graduate high school on time–something her two famously glamourous globe-trotting older sisters, Grey and Vivi, never managed to do. But when Grey goes missing without a trace, leaving behind bizarre clues as to what might have happened, Iris and Vivi are left to trace her last few days. They aren’t the only ones looking for her though. As they brush against the supernatural they realize that the story they’ve been told about their past is unraveling and the world that returned them seemingly unharmed ten years ago, might just be calling them home.

I don’t usually ready mystery/horror stories but I kept hearing great stuff about this book, so I am obviously super curious. House of Hollow is a modern fairy-tale about three sisters who experience lots of weird creepy stuff happening with no apparent reason. House of Hollow is out on 6 April.

Go the Distance (A Twisted Tale: Hercules) – Jen Calonita

What if Meg had to become a god?

After Hercules proves he’s a true hero and regains his godship, all seems right in the world. That is, until Zeus tells Meg that she can’t be with Hercules because she’s, well, mortal. Luckily, Hera has a solution, offering Meg a chance to prove herself worthy of a spot on Mt. Olympus–as a god. All Meg has to do is complete a mysterious quest.

The mission? Oh, just to rescue her ex’s current wife from the Underworld. The ex-boyfriend she saved by selling her soul to Hades. The ex-boyfriend who immediately moved on to someone else while she was stuck in the Underworld. Can Meg put her past behind her and use her quick-wit to defeat monsters and gods alike, including the nefarious Hades? Will she finally figure out her place and contribution to the world? Or will her fear of commitment have her running away from an eternity of godhood with Herc?

This is based on the Disney movie Hercules and it’s also published by Disney-Hyperion. Go The Distance further develops the story of Meg and it is written by the author of Mirror, Mirror and Conceal, Don’t Feel. This is out on 6 April.

Contemporary/Queer/Realistic Fiction:

Zara Hossain is Here – Sabina Khan

Zara’s family has waited years for their visa process to be finalized so that they can officially become US citizens. But it only takes one moment for that dream to come crashing down around them.

Seventeen-year-old Pakistani immigrant, Zara Hossain, has been leading a fairly typical life in Corpus Christi, Texas, since her family moved there for her father to work as a pediatrician. While dealing with the Islamophobia that she faces at school, Zara has to lay low, trying not to stir up any trouble and jeopardize their family’s dependent visa status while they await their green card approval, which has been in process for almost nine years.

But one day her tormentor, star football player Tyler Benson, takes things too far, leaving a threatening note in her locker, and gets suspended. As an act of revenge against her for speaking out, Tyler and his friends vandalize Zara’s house with racist graffiti, leading to a violent crime that puts Zara’s entire future at risk. Now she must pay the ultimate price and choose between fighting to stay in the only place she’s ever called home or losing the life she loves and everyone in it.

Zara Hossain is Here is a story from Sabina Khan, author of The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali, and it’s a story about what it means to be an immigrant in America today. It’s a story of hope and hate when dreams are crushed. This highly anticipated contemporary romance that will be out on 6 April.

The Sky Blues – Robbie Couch

Sky Baker may be openly gay, but in his small, insular town, making sure he was invisible has always been easier than being himself. Determined not to let anything ruin his senior year, Sky decides to make a splash at his high school’s annual beach bum party by asking his crush, Ali, to prom—and he has thirty days to do it.

What better way to start living loud and proud than by pulling off the gayest promposal Rock Ledge, Michigan, has ever seen?

Then, Sky’s plans are leaked by an anonymous hacker in a deeply homophobic e-blast that quickly goes viral. He’s fully prepared to drop out and skip town altogether—until his classmates give him a reason to fight back by turning his thirty-day promposal countdown into a school-wide hunt to expose the e-blast perpetrator.

But what happens at the end of the thirty days? Will Sky get to keep his hard-won visibility? Or will his small-town blues stop him from being his true self?

The Sky Blues has been described as perfect for fans of What If It’s Us? and I Wish You All The Best. It’s a debut novel about living in a small homophobic town and dealing with a school who doesn’t want to accept your sexuality. This is out on 6 April.

Contemporary Romance:

Kisses and Croissants – Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau

Seventeen-year-old Mia, an American girl at an elite summer ballet program, has six weeks to achieve her dreams: to snag an audition with one of the world’s best ballet companies. But there’s more to Paris than ballet—especially when a charming French boy, Louis, wants to be her tour guide—and the pair discover the city has a few mysteries up its sleeve.

In the vein of romances like Love and Gelato, this is the perfect summer adventure for anyone looking to get swept away in the City of Love.

This is a romantic novel that takes place in Paris. Kisses and Croissants is a story of an American ballerina and a charming French boy, which is a perfect read for fans of American Royals and To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before. If you want to hear about this book, head over to I am All Booked Up‘s blog to read their review. This is out on 6 April.

Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet – Laekan Zea Kemp

As an aspiring pastry chef, Penelope Prado has always dreamed of opening her own pastelería next to her father’s restaurant, Nacho’s Tacos. But her mom and dad have different plans — leaving Pen to choose between disappointing her traditional Mexican-American parents or following her own path. When she confesses a secret she’s been keeping, her world is sent into a tailspin. But then she meets a cute new hire at Nacho’s who sees through her hard exterior and asks the questions she’s been too afraid to ask herself.

Xander Amaro has been searching for home since he was a little boy. For him, a job at Nacho’s is an opportunity for just that — a chance at a normal life, to settle in at his abuelo’s, and to find the father who left him behind. But when both the restaurant and Xander’s immigrant status are threatened, he will do whatever it takes to protect his new found family and himself.

Together, Pen and Xander must navigate first love and discovering where they belong — both within their families and their fiercely loyal Chicanx community — in order to save the place they all call home.

This novel is described as I’m Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter meets Emergency Contact. From the author of The Girl in Between series, a story about first love, mental health and familial expectations. This is out on 6 April.

Thriller/Mystery:

What Beauty There Is – Cory Anderson

Winter. The sky is dark. It is cold enough to crack bones.

Jack Morton has nothing left. Except his younger brother, Matty, who he’d do anything for. Even die for. Now with their mother gone, and their funds quickly dwindling, Jack needs to make a choice: lose his brother to foster care, or find the drug money that sent his father to prison. He chooses the money.

Ava Bardem lives in isolation, a life of silence. For seventeen years her father has controlled her fate. He has taught her to love no one. Trust no one. Now Victor Bardem is stalking the same money as Jack. When he picks up Jack’s trail, Ava must make her own wrenching choice: remain silent or help the brothers survive.

Choices. They come at a price.

I am literally seeing this cover everywhere, and I always think it’s enough of a sign to add a book to my TBR. What Beauty There Is has been described as Winter’s Bone meets The Road and it has already outstanding reviews on Goodreads. This is out on 6 April.

Which of these books are you planning to read or add to your TBR?