March 2021 · New YA Releases

Series We Need To Say Goodbye To (March Edition)

Hello Fellow Readers,

I hope you are having a lovely weekend so far.

There are two series coming to an end this month, which I personally only saw here and there. This is the beauty of reading, always finding something new to read.

In case you are looking for new series to binge read, here they are:

Shadow Players Trilogy – Heidi Heilig

A young woman with a dangerous power she barely understands. A smuggler with secrets of his own. A country torn between a merciless colonial army, a terrifying tyrant, and a feared rebel leader. The first book in a new trilogy from Heidi Heilig.

Jetta’s family is famed as the most talented troupe of shadow players in the land. With Jetta behind the scrim, their puppets seem to move without string or stick a trade secret, they say. In truth, Jetta can see the souls of the recently departed and bind them to the puppets with her blood. But the old ways are forbidden ever since the colonial army conquered their country, so Jetta must never show never tell. Her skill and fame are her family’s way to earn a spot aboard the royal ship to Aquitan, where shadow plays are the latest rage, and where rumor has it the Mad King has a spring that cures his ills. Because seeing spirits is not the only thing that plagues Jetta. But as rebellion seethes and as Jetta meets a young smuggler, she will face truths and decisions that she never imagined—and safety will never seem so far away.

Girls With Sharp Sticks – Suzanne Young

The Girls of Innovations Academy are beautiful and well-behaved—it says so on their report cards. Under the watchful gaze of their Guardians, the all-girl boarding school offers an array of studies and activities, from “Growing a Beautiful and Prosperous Garden” to “Art Appreciation” and “Interior Design.” The girls learn to be the best society has to offer. Absent is the difficult math coursework, or the unnecessary sciences or current events. They are obedient young ladies, free from arrogance or defiance. Until Mena starts to realize that their carefully controlled existence may not be quite as it appears.

As Mena and her friends begin to uncover the dark secrets of what’s actually happening there—and who they really are—the girls of Innovations will find out what they are truly capable of. Because some of the prettiest flowers have the sharpest thorns.

The first trilogy, Shadow Players, takes place in a world inspired by Asian cultures and French Colonialism. It’s a high fantasy which explores the topic of mental health and racism. The last book of this series, On This Unworthy Scaffold, is out as an eBook edition on 16 March. The hardback version will follow next month. The second series, Girls With Sharp Sticks, is a dystopian science fiction with a twist of feminism and mystery. It’s recommended for fans of The Handmaids Tale and Diana Urban. The last book, Girls with Rebel Souls is out on 23 March.

Have you read any of these series?

See you next week with the last New Release post of March.

6 thoughts on “Series We Need To Say Goodbye To (March Edition)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s