Hello Fellow Readers,

I hope you are well and you had a lovely weekend. It’s still pretty chilly here in London, and it’s going to rain the whole week. I’m quite busy with work while trying to catch up with blog hopping and my blog. This week we have lots of amazing books coming out, I wish I could just stop the time to catch up with everything, but would that be enough? Nah… haha.

Anyway, here we go:

Fantasy:

Sweet & Bitter Magic – Adrienne Tooley

Tamsin is the most powerful witch of her generation. But after committing the worst magical sin, she’s exiled by the ruling Coven and cursed with the inability to love. The only way she can get those feelings back—even for just a little while—is to steal love from others.

Wren is a source—a rare kind of person who is made of magic, despite being unable to use it herself. Sources are required to train with the Coven as soon as they discover their abilities, but Wren—the only caretaker to her ailing father—has spent her life hiding her secret.

When a magical plague ravages the queendom, Wren’s father falls victim. To save him, Wren proposes a bargain: if Tamsin will help her catch the dark witch responsible for creating the plague, then Wren will give Tamsin her love for her father.

Of course, love bargains are a tricky thing, and these two have a long, perilous journey ahead of them—that is, if they don’t kill each other first.. 

I am so curious about this new debut fantasy and I know it’s one of the most awaited titles of the month for many YA readers. Bitter & Sweet Magic has been recommended for readers who enjoyed Sorcery of Thorns and Girls of Paper and Fire. It’s a story of a witch cursed to never love, who meets a girl hiding her magic, which is considered dangerous. The two of them will make a bargain to save their queendom. This will be out on 9 March.

Sing Me Forgotten – Jessica S. Olson

Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent walls of the opera house.

Cast into a well at birth for being one of the magical few who can manipulate memories when people sing, she was saved by Cyril, the opera house’s owner. Since that day, he has given her sanctuary from the murderous world outside. All he asks in return is that she use her power to keep ticket sales high—and that she stay out of sight. For if anyone discovers she survived, Isda and Cyril would pay with their lives.

But Isda breaks Cyril’s cardinal rule when she meets Emeric Rodin, a charming boy who throws her quiet, solitary life out of balance. His voice is unlike any she’s ever heard, but the real shock comes when she finds in his memories hints of a way to finally break free of her gilded prison.

Haunted by this possibility, Isda spends more and more time with Emeric, searching for answers in his music and his past. But the price of freedom is steeper than Isda could ever know. For even as she struggles with her growing feelings for Emeric, she learns that in order to take charge of her own destiny, she must become the monster the world tried to drown in the first place. 

Sing Me Forgotten is another fantasy debut and it’s a gender-bent retelling of the Phantom of the Opera. These details are already enough to pick my curiosity, together with this astonishing cover. I recommend reading Raji’s honest review on Worlds Unlike Our Owns as she presents you the pros and cons of this story (and still convince you to read it). This is out on 9 March.

Science-Fiction:

Fragile Remedy – Maria Ingrande Mora

Sixteen-year-old Nate is a Gem—a Genetically Engineered Medical Surrogate—created by Gathos City scientists as a cure for the elite from the fatal lung rot ravaging the population. As a child, Nate was smuggled out of the laboratory where he was held captive and into the Withers—a quarantined, lawless region. He manages to survive by becoming a Tinker, fixing broken tech in exchange for food or a safe place to sleep. When he meets Reed, a kind and fiercely protective boy that makes his heart race, and his misfit gang of scavengers, Nate finds the family he’s always longed for—even if he can’t risk telling them what he is.

But Gathos created a genetic failsafe in their Gems—a flaw in their DNA that causes their health to rapidly deteriorate as they age unless they are regularly dosed with medication controlled by Gathos City. When violence erupts across the Withers, Nate’s illegal supply of medicine is cut off, and a vicious attack on Reed threatens to expose his secret. With time running out, Nate is left with only two options: work for a shadowy terrorist organization that has the means to keep him alive, or stay—and die—with the boy he loves.

After reading the synopsis of this book, I thought “Yep, I am sold”. I am so curious about Fragile Remedy, which is a mix of science fiction/dystopia/fantasy and romance all together. This book is gaining so many positive reviews and it was added straight to my TBR. This book is out on 9 March.

Contemporary Romance:

When We Were Infinite – Kelly Loy Gilbert 

All Beth wants is for her tight-knit circle of friends — Grace Nakamura, Brandon Lin, Sunny Chen, and Jason Tsou — to stay together. With her family splintered and her future a question mark, these friends are all she has — even if she sometimes wonders if she truly fits in with them. Besides, she’s certain she’ll never be able to tell Jason how she really feels about him, so friendship will have to be enough.

Then Beth witnesses a private act of violence in Jason’s home, and the whole group is shaken. Beth and her friends make a pact to do whatever it takes to protect Jason, no matter the sacrifice. But when even their fierce loyalty isn’t enough to stop Jason from making a life-altering choice, Beth must decide how far she’s willing to go for him—and how much of herself she’s willing to give up.

When We Were Infinite is a new novel from Kelly Loy Gilbert, the award winning author of Conviction and Picture Us In The Light. It is a romantic drama about keeping secrets from each other and from ourselves. This is recommended for those who enjoyed Permanent Record and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter. This is out on 9 March.

Perfect on Paper – Sophie Gonzales

Her advice, spot on. Her love life, way off.

Darcy Phillips:
• Can give you the solution to any of your relationship woes—for a fee.
• Uses her power for good. Most of the time.
• Really cannot stand Alexander Brougham.
• Has maybe not the best judgement when it comes to her best friend, Brooke…who is in love with someone else.
• Does not appreciate being blackmailed.

However, when Brougham catches her in the act of collecting letters from locker 89—out of which she’s been running her questionably legal, anonymous relationship advice service—that’s exactly what happens. In exchange for keeping her secret, Darcy begrudgingly agrees to become his personal dating coach—at a generous hourly rate, at least. The goal? To help him win his ex-girlfriend back.

Darcy has a good reason to keep her identity secret. If word gets out that she’s behind the locker, some things she’s not proud of will come to light, and there’s a good chance Brooke will never speak to her again.

Okay, so all she has to do is help an entitled, bratty, (annoyingly hot) guy win over a girl who’s already fallen for him once? What could go wrong?

Perfect on Paper tells the story of a bisexual girl who gives anonymous love advice to her classmates. One day she is hired by the hot guy of the school and she helps him to get his ex back. This contemporary romance is a mix of Leah on the Offbeat and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. If you are not convinced yet, I invite you to read this amazing review by The Elven Warrior. Perfect on Paper is out on 9 March.

Contemporary:

Can’t Take That Away – Steven Salvatore

Carey Parker dreams of being a diva, and bringing the house down with song. They can hit every note of all the top pop and Broadway hits. But despite their talent, emotional scars from an incident with a homophobic classmate and their grandmother’s spiraling dementia make it harder and harder for Carey to find their voice.

Then Carey meets Cris, a singer/guitarist who makes Carey feel seen for the first time in their life. With the rush of a promising new romantic relationship, Carey finds the confidence to audition for the role of Elphaba, the Wicked Witch of the West, in the school musical, setting off a chain reaction of prejudice by Carey’s tormentor and others in the school. It’s up to Carey, Cris, and their friends to defend their rights–and they refuse to be silenced.

This is another interesting debut about a genderqueer teenager, who finds the courage to speak up about equality when they are discriminated against by their school administration. This book is written with alternating identifying pronouns, it has romance and lots of musical references. Can’t Take That Away is out on 9 March.

Mystery:

Pride and Premeditation – Tirzah Price 

When a scandalous murder shocks London high society, seventeen-year-old aspiring lawyer Lizzie Bennet seizes the opportunity to prove herself, despite the interference of Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy, the stern young heir to the prestigious firm Pemberley Associates.

Convinced the authorities have imprisoned the wrong person, Lizzie vows to solve the murder on her own. But as the case—and her feelings for Darcy—become more complicated, Lizzie discovers that her dream job could make her happy, but it might also get her killed.

Pride and Premeditation is the first book of Jane Austen Murder Mystery, it seems to be a promising retelling of Pride and Prejudice but on the same line of Stalking Jack the Ripper. Absolutely intriguing! This book is out on 9 March.

Which book are you adding to your TBR this month?

Have you read any of these books??