2021 · February 2021 · New YA Releases

This Week New YA Releases – 16 Feb 2021

Hello Fellow Readers,

I hope you are well. How is your February going? It has been a couple of busy weeks for me, getting adjusted to a new client and trying to find time to read and blog, and at the same time to keep my sanity in check.

This week’s new releases are all amazing fantasy titles and this time it’s not an exaggeration, but I really want to read them all. Let’s dig in.

Fantasy:

Amelia Unabridged – Ashley Schumacher

Eighteen-year-old Amelia Griffin is obsessed with the famous Orman Chronicles, written by the young and reclusive prodigy N. E. Endsley. They’re the books that brought her and her best friend Jenna together after Amelia’s father left and her family imploded. So when Amelia and Jenna get the opportunity to attend a book festival with Endsley in attendance, Amelia is ecstatic. It’s the perfect way to start off their last summer before college.

In a heartbeat, everything goes horribly wrong. When Jenna gets a chance to meet the author and Amelia doesn’t, the two have a blowout fight like they’ve never experienced. And before Amelia has a chance to mend things, Jenna is killed in a freak car accident. Grief-stricken, and without her best friend to guide her, Amelia questions everything she had planned for the future.

When a mysterious, rare edition of the Orman Chronicles arrives, Amelia is convinced that it somehow came from Jenna. Tracking the book to an obscure but enchanting bookstore in Michigan, Amelia is shocked to find herself face-to-face with the enigmatic and handsome N. E. Endsley himself, the reason for Amelia’s and Jenna’s fight and perhaps the clue to what Jenna wanted to tell her all along.

I’ve read only positive things about Amelia Unabridged and it has been sitting on my TBR for a couple of months already. This is Ashley Schumacher’s debut novel, about finding hope and strength within yourself and maybe fall in love in the process. I recommend reading this amazing spoiler free review by The Elven Warrior, and look out for the book on publication day, 16 February.

We Are The Fire – Sam Taylor

In the cold, treacherous land of Vesimaa, children are stolen from their families by a cruel emperor, forced to undergo a horrific transformative procedure, and serve in the army as magical fire-wielding soldiers. Pran and Oksana―both taken from their homeland at a young age―only have each other to hold onto in this heartless place.

Pran dreams of one day rebelling against their oppressors and destroying the empire; Oksana only dreams of returning home and creating a peaceful life for them both.

When they discover the emperor has a new, more terrible mission than ever for their kind, Pran and Oksana vow to escape his tyranny once and for all. But their methods and ideals differ drastically, driving a wedge between them. Worse still, they both soon find that the only way to defeat the monsters that subjugated them may be to become monsters themselves.

We Are The Fire is another thrilling debut of this week. This fantasy novel has been pitched as perfect for fans of An Ember in The Ashes with bits of the legend of Spartacus (I am officially squeaking). I can’t wait to read this novel which comes out tomorrow on 16 February.

Of Silver and Shadow – Jennifer Gruenke

Ren Kolins is a silver wielder—a dangerous thing to be in the kingdom of Erdis, where magic has been outlawed for a century. Ren is just trying to survive, sticking to a life of petty thievery, card games, and pit fighting to get by. But when a wealthy rebel leader discovers her secret, he offers her a fortune to join his revolution. The caveat: she won’t see a single coin until they overthrow the King.

Behind the castle walls, a brutal group of warriors known as the King’s Children is engaged in a competition: the first to find the rebel leader will be made King’s Fang, the right hand of the King of Erdis. And Adley Farre is hunting down the rebels one by one, torturing her way to Ren and the rebel leader, and the coveted King’s Fang title.

But time is running out for all of them, including the youngest Prince of Erdis, who finds himself pulled into the rebellion. Political tensions have reached a boiling point, and Ren and the rebels must take the throne before war breaks out.

From what I’ve gathered, Of Silver and Shadow may not add anything unusual to the YA fantasy genre, but it has been praised for the writing style and unique diverse representation. This book has been on my radar since last year, and I can’t wait to finally put my hands on it. This is out on 16 February.

The Wide Starlight – Nicole Lesperance

Never whistle at the Northern Lights, the story goes, or they’ll sweep down from the sky and carry you away.

Sixteen-year-old Eline Davis knows it’s true. She was there ten years ago, on a frozen fjord in Svalbard, Norway, the night her mother whistled at the lights and then vanished.

Now Eli lives an ordinary life with her dad on Cape Cod. But when the Northern Lights are visible over the Cape for just one night, she can’t resist the possibility of seeing her mother again. So she whistles—and it works. Her mother appears, with snowy hair, frosty fingertips and a hazy story of where she’s been all these years. And she doesn’t return alone.

Along with Eli’s mother’s reappearance come strange, impossible things. Narwhals swimming in Cape Cod Bay, meteorites landing in Eli’s yard, and three shadowy princesses with ominous messages. It’s all too much, too fast, and Eli pushes her mother away. She disappears again—but this time, she leaves behind a note that will send Eli on a journey across continents, to the northern tip of the world:


Find me where I left you. 

This novel tells the story of a sixteen year old girl who tries to remember details of her mother’s disappearance in a freezing Norwegian night under the Northern Lights. It has been described as The Hazel Wood meets The Astonishing Color of After. The Wide Starlight is out on 16 February.

Wings of Fury – Emily R. King

My mother told me that men would speak about the Golden Age as a time of peace and happiness for all… However, the women of our age would tell a very different story…

Cronus, God of Gods, whose inheritance is the world. Among his possessions: women, imprisoned and fated to serve. The strong-minded Althea Lambros controls her own fate and lives to honor her dying mother’s plea to protect her two sisters at all costs. Althea’s journey toward crushing the tyranny has begun. It is a destiny foretold by the Fates. And she is following their visions.

On the southern isle of Crete, hidden among mortal women who have fled the Titans, is the Boy God, son of Cronus and believed dead. He shares Althea’s destiny to vanquish the Almighty—fate willing. Because Cronus has caught wind of the plot. He’s amassing his own forces against Althea’s righteous rebellion and all those who will no longer surrender or run. There will be war. If she’s to survive to write their history, the indomitable Althea must soar higher than any god.

My guilty level is through the roof right now. I read the first book of the Hundredth Queen series ages ago and honestly, I remember I devoured it. Unfortunately, I never got to read the rest. Now Emily R. King is publishing this new trilogy about ancient Greek, Titans and treachery and I am so intrigued! Wings of Fury is out on 16 February.

Which book are you adding to your TBR this month? Have you read any of these books??

Also, if there is any upcoming book you have reviewed and you would like me to add a link to it on one of my next “This Week New YA Releases” posts, get in touch!

15 thoughts on “This Week New YA Releases – 16 Feb 2021

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s