2021 · January 2021 · New YA Releases

Series We Need To Say Goodbye To (January Edition)

Hello Fellow Readers,

I hope you are all having a lovely weekend.

It’s the end of the month and it’s time to review which series will be over. We have two big series ending this January, one of which, I guess, is one of your most awaited reads of the year.

Cursebreaker Trilogy – Brigid Kemmerer

Fall in love, break the curse.

Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year, Prince Rhen, the heir of Emberfall, thought he could be saved easily if a girl fell for him. But that was before he turned into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. Before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, Harper learned to be tough enough to survive. When she tries to save a stranger on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s pulled into a magical world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom.

Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. A prince? A curse? A monster? As she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

Ah, I remember when this story used to be awesome, and then the sequel came out and it was a disaster. Sorry guys, I know many of you don’t agree with my opinion about the second book. I got a copy of the third book a couple of days ago and to be honest, I am actually curious to read it and see how this story ends. If you are not familiar with the series, Cursebreakers is a modern retelling of The Beauty and The Beast, where our beauty comes from the present Washington and ends up in magic Emberfall. She has to find a way to save this land and the cursed prince. The last book of the trilogy – A Vow So Bold and Deadly – is out on 26 January.

Heart of Thorns Trilogy – Bree Barton

In the ancient river kingdom, where touch is a battlefield and bodies the instruments of war, Mia Rose has pledged her life to hunting Gwyrach: women who can manipulate flesh, bones, breath, and blood. The same women who killed her mother without a single scratch.

But when Mia’s father announces an alliance with the royal family, she is forced to trade in her knives and trousers for a sumptuous silk gown. Determined to forge her own path forward, Mia plots a daring escape, but could never predict the greatest betrayal of all: her own body. Mia possesses the very magic she has sworn to destroy.

Now, as she untangles the secrets of her past, Mia must learn to trust her heart…even if it kills her.

Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor won’t want to miss this gorgeously written, bold novel, the first in the Heart of Thorns trilogy.

Ah, I remember when this story used to be awesome, and then the sequel came out and it was a disaster… Ahahah!! Deja vu!? Unfortunately Tears of Frost was the most upsetting, disappointing and unexpected sequel in history, and I am very sorry to say, I will not be reading the ending. The plot took a twist and I am not interested in following. However, if you are looking for a heart-racing, feminist story about a world where only women have magic you should give it a go. The last book of the trilogy – Soul of Cinder – is out on 12 January.

It’s not over, yet!!

Don’t miss tomorrow’s post about special novels or awaited returns of January.

11 thoughts on “Series We Need To Say Goodbye To (January Edition)

  1. I read the first two Cursebreaker books a year ago and while I remember them being decent that really all I remember…? Though I did just get a copy of A Vow So Bold and Deadly and hope that it’ll be a strong conclusion to the trilogy!!

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s