Hello Fellow Readers,

Hope you are keeping safe. Did you request lots of books to Santa Claus?

I am so sad… This is the last This Week New YA Releases of the year!! I can’t believe it!!

At the same time I am so excited for what’s coming next year and I can’t wait to continue this section, which is my favourite. I will do my best to always keep you updated with what’s new on the YA side and will work on improving this section even more. Anyway, let’s move on to see which books are coming out this week:

This is How We Fly – Anna Meriano

17-year-old vegan feminist Ellen Lopez-Rourke has one muggy Houston summer left before college. She plans to spend every last moment with her two best friends before they go off to the opposite ends of Texas for school. But when Ellen is grounded for the entire summer by her (sometimes) evil stepmother, all her plans are thrown out the window.

Determined to do something with her time, Ellen (with the help of BFF Melissa) convinces her parents to let her join the local muggle Quidditch team. An all-gender, full-contact game, Quidditch isn’t quite what Ellen expects. There’s no flying, no magic, just a bunch of scrappy players holding PVC pipe between their legs and throwing dodgeballs. Suddenly Ellen is thrown into the very different world of sports: her life is all practices, training, and running with a group of Harry Potter fans.

Even as Melissa pulls away to pursue new relationships and their other BFF Xiumiao seems more interested in moving on from high school (and from Ellen), Ellen is steadily finding a place among her teammates. Maybe Quidditch is where she belongs.

But with her home life and friend troubles quickly spinning out of control–Ellen must fight for the future that she wants, now she’s playing for keeps.

This novel is loosely based on Cinderella‘s story. It tells the story of Ellen who is grounded by the evil stepmother has no other option but to join a local Quidditch team (???), where she finds a new place to belong to. It’s a debut novel recommended for fans of Fangirl and Dumplin’, but I love the mix of Quidditch and Cinderella retelling. It’s out on 15 December.

Coming Up For Air – Nicole Tyndall

Ever since her mom’s cancer scare, Hadley hasn’t been one for taking risks. And after seeing her sister go through one too many heartbreaks, she definitely has no interest in dating. Hadley just wants to keep her head down and enjoy the rest of high school with her friends, focusing on her photography and getting into the art school of her dreams.

Then enters Braden, star of the swim team and precisely the kind of person Hadley avoids, all bravado and charm and impulsivity. From their first moment together, they are perfect sparring partners, equally matched. And it’s intoxicating. Braden sees her, really sees her, and Hadley decides it might be time to break all her rules.

Braden shows Hadley how to live again, and soon Hadley is happier than she’ll ever admit out loud. But that’s before her family is faced with devastating news, and Braden starts hiding a growing, dark secret. As it threatens to shatter everything they’ve built, Hadley must confront her own actions and determine if she has the strength to walk away.

This contemporary novel tells the story about a girl who is very talented and creative and a boy who slowly enters her life. It explores mental health issues, addiction and loss and the aching butterflies of first love. It’s recommended for readers of Nina LaCour and The Spectacular Now. It’s out on 15 December.

This is the last This Week New YA Release post for 2020. This section will come back next month!

Thank you so much for reading this section for the past months!!